Role of the State Governments is significant for successful implementation of reduction in emission intensity by 45% by 2030: R. K. Singh...

Union Minister of Power and New & Renewable Energy, R.K. Singh has asked the Chief Ministers of all States, and Lieutenant Governors of Union Territories to set up State Level Steering Committees for Energy Transition. These Steering Committees will work under the chairmanship of the Chief Secretaries of the respective States/Union Territories. The Principal Secretaries of Power and New and Renewable Energy Departments, Transport, Industries, Housing and Urban Affairs, Agriculture, Rural Development
and Public Works Departments, etc., will act as members of these committees. The States and
Union Territories will work on the annual strategy of energy transition under the mandate of
the committee.

The Minister reiterated that States/UTs have a vital role in meeting state-specific goals on sustainable development in the most energy-efficient way. He added that the energy transition is the only means of reducing carbon emissions and fulfilling our commitments made at international forums. He informed that some states like Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, and Uttarakhand have already constituted such committees.

Singh highlighted that for energy transition, the States and Union Territories have to work together on multiple tracks. He added that the first track is the addition of Renewables to the electricity generation mix to meet the nation’s ever-increasing demand for electricity; the second track would be the promotion of energy efficiency while the third one would be more use of biomass and green hydrogen.

Leave a Reply